Things With Wings!

Hello Crafty Friends!

We are back once again for another awesome Friends of Unity Blog Hop! This month’s cue is “Things With Wings”!

Unity Stamp Co has so many amazing bird, butterfly, dragonfly (etc) stamps that will work with this theme easily!

The first two cards I made feature the same stamp kit. I used this beautiful bird on a branch image from the “Don’t Worry “ kit.

My first card is my go- to style, fairly quick & easy using patterned paper of course!

Don’t Worry

I started off my base with a deep chocolate A2 size cardstock and then trimmed this beautiful patterned paper 1/4 inch smaller to use as a mat.

I stamped the image using waterproof ink onto watercolor paper and loosely added color. I trimmed the paper using a rectangle stitched die and glued it as shown to my card base.

The sentiment was stamped in the upper right hand corner and a few gemstones were added as accents. In the lightening it appears as if the stones are tear dropped shaped (to me anyway) but it’s just an odd reflection.

Using the same image I went for a completely different look below:

Don’t worry

I used an A2 sized black cardstock base and cut another yellow piece of cardstock 1/2 smaller and adhered it a bit wonky (as shown) to my base.

I have a pile of gel print pieces that I dug through that I thought would work well. I randomly stamped some miscellaneous elements using stamps I had received from a previous Unity Grab bag onto my gel print using versafine clair ink. I heat set the ink so it wouldn’t smear.

After stamping the bird image I used a white gel pen to get it to pop a bit off the print.

It looked rather plain so I ended up cutting out small ovals using a stitched oval die and adhering them to the corners (as shown) after stamping them with a script stamp.

The sentiment was created in Word.

I had every intention of creating one more card but time was flying (pun intended ) by too fast this month. I hope that you found some inkspiration here whether it’s to pull out your watercolors, gel plate or “Things With Wings” stamps!

Before you go, I would love for you to leave some feedback. You comments will show shortly!

If you’re ready to move on, next up is our beautifully talented friend Bobbie Sue!

Your support and kind comments mean so much to us!

Thanks for stopping by!

31 thoughts on “Things With Wings!

      1. April, your cards are great! I love how you showcased the same stamp to get two totally different looks!

        Like

  1. Fabulous cards, April! I love how you continued the design and color of the flowers with the pattern paper… such a perfect card! And your second card… WOW! I love the background you created! Two amazing cards using one stamp… fab inspiration!

    Like

  2. Your first card is so pretty and the flowers of the background coordinate so perfectly with the stamped flowers! I love your coloring and the beautiful blues. Your second card is awesome. I just learned new techniques to practice. Your white gel pen drawing is creative and the effect is cool. I love the circles you added to the corners. It really completes the card!

    Like

  3. That blue bird card is so beautiful! Love how you coordinated the bird with your pretty patterned paper!

    Like

  4. This bird nerd is in love with this months theme! Such pretty cards. Love the loose watercoloring you did on the 1st card as well as the gorgeous BG & layering you did. The 2nd card is fabulous! I love a ‘grungy’ look like this – and it’s not easy to do IMO!!

    Like

  5. Beautiful cards! I love how you used the same stamp two different ways! Very creative. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a comment