Happy World Card Making Day

It’s World CardMaking Day!

Almost 30yrs ago I was introduced to the art of cardmaking/papercrafting through a friend of mine who was hosting a party for Stampin’ Up! I have always loved to color, (it’s extremely relaxing) but didn’t see the practicality in making cards with a group of gals while sipping wine and eating crackers. But I wasn’t one to pass up free wine so I went.

Now, here I am today with an insurance policy on my art supplies, a bunch of amazing friends I would have never met otherwise, a participant of many card making groups, a member of cardmaking teams and a grandiose goal of healing our youth- through art-all inkspired by a wine and cheese party that turned into 30+yrs of a passion for papercrafting.

There are “those” people who don’t see the value in creating cards (or any art for that matter) and there are “those” people who I have sent cards to with a handwritten note that still display them on their mantel, desks or keep them in boxes even today . I create for both.

The art of creating cards has truly been therapeutic for me. It’s helped me escape the daily stresses of my life, it’s helped take my mind off of chronic pain I endure, it’s helped me release stored emotions, its helped to bring joy to the lives of unexpected recipients and it’s brought so many inkredible friendships into my life.

There is GREAT value to be found in cardmaking/papercrafting and in honor of World Card Making Day- I want to express my sincere gratitude to all those who appreciate and support what I do. I’m so grateful for all of my friends who’ve attended my classes, to all those who have enjoyed receiving my happy mail and especially to all the cardmaking friends I have made that continue to support, encourage and help me to grow in the craft.

My ultimate goal that I am currently working towards is using art as a healing modality for our at-risk and underserved youth- to assist them in processing and working through trauma. Mental health advocacy is a passion of mine so whether it’s making cards, journaling, or just using their hands to heal their hearts it’s going to be my way of giving back everything that papercrafting has extended to me.

We are ALL divinely creative human beings.

No matter what your hobby may be- whether it be papercrafting, photography, knitting, woodworking, creating music, writing, cooking- I hope that you will use your talents to create a better world for yourself and those around you. ♥️🌎

So, Happy 🌎 Cardmaking Day!

Leave a comment