November FOU Blog Hop

Hello Crafty Friends!

I can’t believe another month has gone by already! I’m excited to be hopping along with all my Friends Of Unity this month after a short hiatus. This month our theme is slimline cards and Unity Stamp Co has quite a few slimline stamps in their collection!

With the holidays around the corner I took advantage of one of my favorite slimline kits called “Let’s Get Merry”. to design a quick and easy Christmas Card. I only created two cards this time around and used the same kit as this month kinda snuck up on me. (Sigh)

If you are pressed for time (like myself) this time of the year and want a holiday card design that can be created with fairly little effort – then grab this kit!

For the first card I used traditional holiday colors. I stamped the image using Versaclaire Nocturne ink onto Arteza watercolor paper.

Using my Prima watercolor pans I very loosely water colored the image as shown. I wasn’t careful or strategic about it at all. I simply just dropped color onto the paper. It took a few layers in different shades to get the desired look.

Once dry I inked the edges with Black Soot Distress Ink and added some white splatters. I then glued all the pieces together (as shown) and added some bronze twine and sequins to accent.

Seriously, I don’t think this could be any easier to make. Here’s a closer look:

For the next card all I did was simply change the colors. Random fact about me: I do not like traditional Christmas colors of red and green. I like more non traditional palettes for winter like blues/pinks/purples.

Again I started off with inking the image in Versaclaire Nocturne ink and just loosely dropping color from my prima pans. Once dry J splattered some white paint for texture.

I dug out some washi tape and added sequins for accent. That’s it! With a design and technique as simple as this, you can create many cards in one sitting. So, if you find yourself waiting last minute (again!) with making your holiday cards this year- give this a try!

Here’s a closer look:

I’d love to know what colors you would choose. Is the traditional red/green your holiday vibe or do you gravitate towards non traditional colors?

Thank you SO much for visiting me today! I’d love to know what you think so please be sure to leave a comment (your comment may appear later as I have comment moderation enabled)

Please know that Unity Stamp Co does not sponsor the Friends Of Unity Hop (but they lovingly approve! ) With that in mind, we truly appreciate all of your love and support each month! Please be sure to visit each of our FOU team’s blog for tons of INKspiration.

If you aren’t already I would love for you to follow me on Facebook and/or Instagram where I am far more active !

Next up on the hop is our sweet & talented friend Colleen! I just know she has something inkredible to share this month with you!

If you would like to start from the beginning: check out what Crystal has in store for you!

I hope you have an INkredible day!

23 thoughts on “November FOU Blog Hop

  1. Gorgeous cards, April! I’m so glad you played with us this month and I’m super excited you used Let’s Get Merry! I love this stamp and had it on my desk to play with but I ran out of time. Love, love, love your cards! Thanks for the wonderful inspiration!

    Like

  2. I absolutely love this! I have just cut my first slimline card base and have this stamp! Maybe it’s a sign! 😉 My favorite non traditional colors are the teals/turquoise/white combo!

    Like

  3. Amazing cards! One of my favorite stamps too. I love them both for different reasons, so I can’t choose… but I guess I lean more towards traditional. Thanks for the inkspiration! Happy Holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment