Sketch Challenge!

Hi Friends!

I am SUPER excited to be back this month with our Friends Of Unity for another fun blog hop! This month, we have a sketch challenge! I LOVE sketch challenges! Sometimes my creative brain gets into a bit of a slump and sketches are a perfect way to get your creative juices flowing! I also tend to favor a similar design when I create cards and sketches help me to think of other ways to lay out my projects outside of my norm.

This is the sketch we are using for this month’s blog hop:

February sketch challenge

Since Valentine’s Day is right around the corner, I centered my projects this month around love and kindness. For my first card I used the Itty Bitty stamp kit called “Kiss the world” This stamp kit is SO dang cute!

All of the cards on my blog are A2 size cards. For my card bases I use 100# white Accent cardstock from Amazon. The 8 1/2×11 CS is cut in half and scored in the middle to create my base. All the card fronts on my blog are glued onto this standard base. The majority of the cardstock I use is from The Cardstock Warehouse

Lets check out how I used the sketch to create my first card.

Kiss the world

For this card I started with a 5 1/2 x 4 1/2 piece of Kraft cardstock and cut my patterned paper 1/4 inch smaller. I glued the patterned paper onto my Kraft base. I love how the patterned paper matched perfectly!

I stamped the lips randomly in three shades of pink using Gina K stamp pads onto white cardstock. Using the nested dies from Unity Stamp Co (a must have) I cut out the stamped image using the smaller rectangle die. Then, using the coordinating scallop die, I cut out a Kraft cardstock mat for my image. I then glued the pieces together. The matted image was glued down to my. mat as shown.

Using a piece of scrap coordinating patterned polka dot paper I glued this down to my card base. The sentiment was stamped onto white cardstock and cut out using a rectangle stitched die from Stampin’ Up! I used a piece of scrap Kraft cardstock to use as a mat for the sentiment. These pieces were glued together and adhered to my card using foam tape.

For accent, I used burlap twine for the top of the card.

For my second card, I dusted off my watercolor pans and brushes.. I love the look and ease of watercoloring but it’s definitely a technique I need to practice more but at least it’s fun trying!

Alfie-Heart and soul

Have you met Alfie? Alfie is one of Unity’s most loved mouse! For this card, I used the kit “Heart and Soul“. My red cardstock base is cut at 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 and then the pretty patterned paper was cut 1/4 inch smaller. The patterned paper was glued to the red hardtack to create my mat.

Using an watercolor safe ink pad, I stamped Alfie onto Canon XL watercolor paper and used a heat gun just to ensure it was dry before watercoloring. Using my watercolor pans and paintbrush I added color to bring him to life. Again, I used a heat gun to make sure he was dry before using Unity Stamp Co’s nested scallop die to cut him out. I then cut a red cardstock mat 1/4 inch larger and glued the two pieces together

The sentiment was stamped onto scrap Canon XL watercolor and a tiny bit of color was added to the heart. I then used a rectangle stitched die from Stampin’ Up! to cut out the sentiment and used a piece of scrap red cardstock to make a mat. I adhered the sentiment to my card using foam dots.

At the top of my card I used a strip of coordinating cardstock to place across the top and then added some Valentine themed grosgrain ribbon, I found some pink string in my stash that I wrapped around the top of the card to pull it all together, A few scattered pink sequins were used as accents.

For my last card I deviated a tiny bit from the sketch. That’s the beauty of sketch challenges. You can use them as they are given or put your own spin on them! For this card I used Valentina Girl which is one of my FAVORITE kits. This image would be perfect for so many occasions.

Valentina Girl

Of course, I had to use patterned paper and I thought this pretty paper was a perfect match for the image! I cut the paper at 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 and glued it to the front of my cardstock base.

Using Gina K’s amalgam ink I stamped the image onto white Hammermill cardstock and colored with Comic markers. then using Unity’s nesting rectangle die (you MUST get these dies! ) I cut the image out. Using the coordinating scallop die, I cut out a mat for my stamped image in vellum

After gluing my stamped image and mat together I adhered it onto the base with foam tape. Using a scrap piece of patterned paper I stamped the sentiment with Versaclair black ink and glued it onto the image as shown.

At the top of the card I wrapped a piece of pink satin ribbon across the top and tied a bow with silver twine.

I hope my projects INKspired you to create projects of your own using the FOU sketch!

Before you go I would love for you to leave some feedback (you will see your comments shortly-I have comment moderation on! ) Please be sure to hop along to each of our crafty friend’s blogs leave some love as well!

If you landed on my blog first, be sure not to miss out on any inspiration and please go back to visit our lovely and talented Bobbie Sue!

If you’re ready to hop along then next up on the hop is our lovely and talented Dawn !

Thank you for stopping by! If you are not already following my on Facebook, please like my page : @myinkrediblelife for more INKspiration! You can also follow my on Instagram at #stampinsarandrea

Have an INKredible day!

39 thoughts on “Sketch Challenge!

  1. Wow, April! All of your cards are gorgeous! I adore the Kraft card, of course! Alfie is adorable! But the Valentina Girl is my fave… she’s gorgeous and perfect for this sketch!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!! I love sketches and enjoyed creating different cards using it! My son has already laid claim to Valentina for his girlfriend’s Valentine’s Day card! I thought that was so sweet! Thank you for the inspiration!

      Like

  2. All of the three cards are so perfect for Valentine’s day! I love the patterned paper you chose and how you incorporated it in the sketch. The satin ribbon, vellum and silver string on the last card with the floral theme is just too beautiful! Love the lips and the sweet mouse too!

    Like

  3. Love all the cards. Adore the mouse! But Valentina Girl is just fantastic! Perfect use of the sketch and wonderful colors/coloring!!

    Like

  4. Who wouldn’t just fall in love with Alfie?!! He’s so sweet & adorable. ALL of your cards are just beautiful. I really love the last one and the coloring & layers. So pretty!

    Like

  5. It is official… Alfi has stolen my heart!!!❤ I’m learning watercolor and I have got to say the way you colored him is what I think is the perfection look I am striving toward! Ab.so.lute.ly Darling. The Valentina gal is beautifully colored and do so soft. Yup! Love these!

    Like

    1. Oh goodness! Thank you SO much for the kind comments! I need SO much more practice with watercoloring I am pretty rusty at it! So glad you liked my cards! I hope to see some of your watercoloring soon!

      Like

  6. Love all of these!! I like the three different colors stamped lips! The Valentine Girl is beautiful! Alfie is adorable too!

    Like

  7. What beautiful Valentine’s Day cards, and a real variety of looks. Loving the first one with that sweet sentiment, and the gorgeous floral heart.

    Like

  8. April, I love all of these cards. I love the pattern paper on the first card. The second card is so adorable and Valentina is a real beauty!

    Like

  9. What wonderful Valentine cards you made with this month’s sketch challenge. You demonstrated how versatile this sketch design is in making different looks with it. All very beautiful!

    Like

  10. Amazing cards! I love the lips card with different patterns, colors, on kraft. The mouse card is darling. But Valentina is just stunning!!! I thought I had her, but now she’s on sale and in my cart (lol). I hope your sons girl loved it. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a comment